devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Off the Grid

on April 1, 2012

Hello there.

Boy have I been a terrible blogger! I know, I know. I’ve been missing in action for a minute, but I did not forget about my blog. I’m back and you can expect more randomonium in the weeks to come. Nationwide was not lying when they said, “Life comes at you fast.” I’m not going to give you the laundry list of what went down, but let’s just say I’m back on track for now. Sayonara March! Bring on my birfday month!

While I was off the grid hunting animals, knitting scarves and building a log cabin….not really, I thought about one thing. No matter what I’m going through, I have to keep it moving and I have to keep it positive. This really hit home last month when my aunt died. The day before she passed, I was very frustrated and borderline bummed out. I was stressing because I’m still trying to recover from the events of last year, and I’m barely keeping my head above water. I was angry and all I could do was have a pity party of one.

The next morning, my phone rang at 7 a.m. It was my Mom and she was sobbing. I answered with a groggy, “Hello?” My Mom’s voice cracked as she said, “Call Papa. He said Aunt Vivian is dead. I’m not sure if he’s confused or not.” She started crying again and said, “I don’t want to wake your father up to tell him since he just had surgery. Please call Papa.” I reassured her that I would check on my grandpa, and hung up. I was shocked, but I remained calm and composed.

Calling Papa that day was pretty hard. On a regular day, Papa’s always cracking jokes or telling us what’s wrong with the world. But to hearing him cry that morning broke my heart. I told him I loved him. I also told him that despite the circumstances, God would bring him through. As I hung up, I felt like a complete jerk for being so consumed with my own stuff. My cousins lost their mom. Papa lost his daughter, and my uncle lost his wife. To me, that trumped whatever I was going through.

It’s funny how life teaches you so many lessons even when you’re not in a learning mood. When everything happened, it opened my eyes. It’s easy for us to get so caught up in our own stuff that we don’t often realize that people are out there fighting much tougher battles.  And sometimes it’s hard to understand life’s trials and tribulations. But once you make it through them, you become a little tougher and wiser.

So I might be scratching and surviving right now, but I have faith that I will get back on my feet eventually. In the meantime I’m just going to keep it moving and keep it positive. I encourage you to do the same no matter what you’re going through. And if you need to talk, yell or have a good come to Jesus moment, you know how to reach me. 🙂

 

 

2 responses to “Off the Grid

  1. milfypuma says:

    Beautifully written, insightful, entertaining …AND a great message!!! Loved it and needed to be reminded myself. Thank you for sharing.
    Is there some way to subscribe to your blog and get notifications of new entries? In case I overlook on FB…
    Hugs & high fives 😉

Leave a Reply

