devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Life’s a Drag

on July 27, 2011

This is Chelsea Pearl. She rocked the show!

I went to Essence Beauty Mart the other day, and I ran into a gaggle of drag queens. So being the drag queen stan that I am, I started a conversation with them. After chatting, they invited me to their show that night. I was so excited.

I love a good queen. I am always impressed with the ones who have fabulous hair and over-the-top wardrobes. I’m also super impressed if they can beat the hell out of their faces (that means they have a great makeup game).

I went to their show that night, and I wasn’t disappointed. The outfits were glamorous, the hair was awesome and their faces were beat to death. I was so happy that I decided to go. It turned out to be a fun night.

As I drove home after the show, I started thinking about why I loved drag queens. I realized that my love for them went way beyond makeup and glitzy, glamorous costumes. I think that I’m like a drag queen in some ways. No, I don’t have to tuck my meat, or wear booty pads to make my booty pop. But I think I am just as sassy and funny as a queen.

I think what I admire the most about drag queens is their confidence. That’s where the difference between me and a drag queen comes in. I’m confident in my people skills, but I’m far from confident about my body. Don’t cry for me Argentina. I’m actually getting better. I’m not pleased with Baby Miguel (my gut), but I am loving my legs right now!

Anyway, most of the queens in the show were plus-sized. But when they got on stage, they worked it like they were supermodels. They weren’t tugging at their clothes to make sure their muffin tops weren’t showing. They weren’t pulling at their body shapers to make sure their rolls weren’t showing. They got up on stage and gave it their all. And that’s what I love about drag queens. I applaud their fearlessness. I also applaud the fact that they don’t care what others think of them.

Who would have thought that I would have an aha! moment after meeting some drag queens? This doesn’t mean I’m going to start wearing wigs, feather boas and sequin ball gowns every day. But I am going to be a little more fabulous than I already am, and work what I have.

 

Image Source: http://www.missshiningstar.com

2 responses to “Life’s a Drag

  1. Dana Little-Chambers says:

    Devon you are awesome! The drag piece was inspirational!

Leave a Reply

