devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Hipster Love Affair

on April 27, 2011

Source: Blipsters

I heart hipsters.

Why?

I like some of their snarkiness , but I love them more for their fashion sense.

Years ago, I couldn’t understand why anyone would want to wear skinny jeans. I also couldn’t understand why it was necessary to wear a scarf year-round. Hipster fashion just didn’t make sense to me. I thought some of it was too costumey and mainly a way for people to draw attention to themselves. But there were some elements of it that I actually liked.

I remember flipping through Lucky magazine and seeing the trendy hipsternistas in funky tights, peasant skirts and dresses, and motorcycle jackets. I loved their sense of style, but I was too afraid to try some of their looks.

Now, I  love with hipster fashion. I don’t mind seeing a guy in some skinny jeans and a striped cardigan. I also think high-waisted, Ikat print miniskirts with bright tights and long cardigan vests look cool. It’s refreshing to see something a little different in OHIO. Lord knows that I am tired of seeing people Hollistered or American Eagled up. Let’s face it people. We are nowhere near California. So isn’t it time to give up the UGGS and the faux O.C. look?

When it comes to hipster fashion, Blipsters has been a great resource for me. This tumblr site is well done and features photos of blipsters (black hipsters)/hipsters from the past and present. The site also features music videos and other gems.

Another site I like is DapperLou.com. This blog was created by Ludget Delcy. Delcy worked as a freelance stylist and events writer for Essence.com. He created DapperLou to  “showcase the work and style of innovative men by publishing daily editorials and street styles. ” This blog features great photos of men in some pretty unique and fly outfits. Many of these men were spotted on the streets of NYC. I don’t have a man, but if I did, I wouldn’t have a problem with him dressing like some of the guys on DapperLou!

I think it’s time for me to let my inner blipster out. I’m not in full American Apparel, gold spandex pants mode, but I know I sure can rock a pair of tights!

Leave a Reply

