devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Mom’s Makeover

on April 5, 2011

My Mom is a phenomenal woman. As a principal, she is very devoted to helping her students succeed. As a daughter, she has taken on the role of being a caretaker for my 93-year-old grandmother. She is constantly on the go. And because of this, she often forgets to take time out for herself.

My Mom has degenerative disc disease and suffers from chronic back and hip pain. But she doesn’t let this get the best of her. She just started using a cane to help alleviate some of her hip pain. So my Mom wanted me to help her with her makeup so she could have a fresh look and be the “hottest woman on a cane.”

On Friday, I took my makeup bag over to the ‘rents house and worked my magic. It was kind of weird because I remember sitting in the bathroom when I was younger and praying that my Mom didn’t poke me in the eyes while she was lining them with that red, wooden Maybeline eyeliner pencil. And she was a pro with using lipstick as blush. She still does that today.

So I showed her some different looks for her eyes, gave her some new lip colors and knocked off about 10 years in an hour. When I was all done she said, “Wow, I look like I’m in my 40s again!”  But the one thing that really amazed her was when I filled in her eyebrows. She couldn’t stop looking at herself in the mirror. She was so happy and I was glad that I could help.

Who knew that a little bit of MAC, a little bit of Clinique and a little bit of L’Oreal could bring me and my Mom closer together? But the experience was fun and it allowed me to let my inner makeup artist out of the closet. And Mom has been practicing what I showed her. Now she can’t wait to get some brushes and new eyeshadow colors from Tarjay.

Leave a Reply

