devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Old Products, Dramatically Different Results

on March 28, 2011

Over the years, I’ve spent a lot of time staking out beauty counters, Sephora and drugstores for mind-blowing, new skin care products.  In my twenties, I spent a good amount of my paychecks on products that promised “brighter skin,”  “a more even complexion,” and “no under eye circles.” What made things worse back then was my love of Allure magazine.

Now I have no hard feelings towards Allure because it really is a good beauty mag. In fact, I dreamed of working there one day and having the chance to try out all of the latest glosses, lotions and potions.  But Allure is like crack to a beauty junkie. If you have a product habit, there’s no way you can resist the goodies in there.

When  Allure would arrive, I would immediately start my research. I always knew about the latest fragrances, lip, nail and eyeshadow colors, hair products and skin care products. And because of that, I got to know a lot of fragrance and cosmetics salespeople at Macy’s, Dillard’s, Nordstrom, Saks and the old Tower City MAC Store. I probably helped them reach their monthly sales goals too!

Now that I’m older, I definitely know better.  I’m also not so quick to fork over my cash for the latest products. Instead, I read reviews and sample products if possible before buying. And if I don’t like something, I have no problem taking it back. After all, it’s about my satisfaction. So I refuse to keep something in my cabinet that’s not getting the job done.

Last month, I re-introduced two forgotten products to my skin care regimen. Those products are Philosophy’s purity made simple and Clinique’s Turnaround Concentrate.

purity made simple

Source: Philosophy.com

Purity has been referred to as a “Holy Grail” product by some beauty junkies. According to Philosophy, this all-in-one cleanser was “formulated to gently cleanse, tone and melt away all face and eye makeup in one simple step, while lightly hydrating the skin.”

I used purity for the first time about six years ago and just thought it was ok. So I gave it to the guy I was seeing at the time. After a month, I noticed his skin looked really nice and I was slightly jealous that mine didn’t look as good!  I think the main reason I gave up on purity was because I wanted a more aggressive, foaming product that helped reduce hyperpigmentation. Later I realized that more aggressive products can sometimes lead to more aggravation and irritation.

The reason me and purity are going steady again is because it is the one thing that melts the Pro Longwear off my face and out of my foundation brush. It also is available in a couple of sizes and since you only need a little, the 8 or 16 oz bottle lasts a long time. Purity also doesn’t leave my skin parched.

Turnaround Concentrate

Source: Clinique.com

Clinique’s Turnaround Concentrate has been an ally in my battle against hyperpigmentation. This concoction helps to smooth out and exfoliate away trouble spots. According to Clinique, this “high-performance cocktail of exfoliating ingredients prompts a renewal process that is multilevel, time-released.” Turnaround concentrate speeds fresh cells to the surface, and continually unveils brighter, more radiant skin.

I totally agree with Clinique. I started using this again two months ago when I received a postcard for a free full-sized bottle in the mail from Macy’s.  In the last month, more and more people have complimented me on my skin. One lady even came up to me at the Clinique counter and said that her and her husband noticed my complexion. She asked if I used Clinique and I showed her what I was using. She then referred to my skin as “smooth chocolate.” I was flattered and a little creeped out by the fact that both of them were looking at me, but I just went with it!

So there’s my two cents. I can now add them to the rest of the money I’m saving since I cancelled my subscription to Allure!

Note: I was not compensated in any way by Clinique or Philosophy for this review. Just wanted to share my experience with you! But if Clinique or Philosophy ever needs me to test out new products, you all know where to find me! Lol!

Leave a Reply

