devonly randomonium

Sugar-coated effery and shenanigans.

Current Fixations

on March 13, 2011

I don’t think I’m the bomb all of the time, but when I put on a special outfit, swipe on some lip gloss or spray on my favorite fragrance, I go from bum to bombshell in no time. If you’re one of my Facebook friends, you know that I love to share some of my obsessions. So I created the Current Fixations section to spotlight the things I’m feeling.

When I buy clothes, I usually stick with my holy trinity…Banana Republic, Gap and Old Navy. I can usually find great deals with my friend Clarence (clearance), or online. And if there is a higher priced  item that I want, I have no problem playing  the waiting game. The pieces hold up well and some even stay in my closet for years.

I haven’t been too inspired lately when it comes to buying clothes. But I think  the weather had a lot to do with it. When it’s cold, I’m more concerned with staying warm than being fly. That all changed when I made a little visit to Gap last week. You get inspired real fast when you see those sale signs. I bought two button down shirts, a wrap top and a ruffle cardigan. Thanks to a gift card, I only spent $50. That was great considering some of the pieces have much higher prices online!

Anyway, after the trip to the store, I went online and found this stunner:

 

Gap's Maxine Dress

 

Source: Gap.com

Say hello to the Maxine dress. Yes it’s a LBD (Little Black Dress), but it has a lot of possibilities. You could wear it to work or for a night out on the town. My stylist, otherwise known as my friend Dana, suggested that I try this dress out with another one of my current fixations, nude/flesh-toned, patent leather shoes. I think gladiator sandals would work well too. The Maxine dress is exclusive to Gap.com and is currently listed at $69.50. I’m going to wait for it to drop before sealing the deal.

As I mentioned before, I have this thing for nude/flesh-toned shoes. I’ve seen celebs and celebutantes alike rock this trend and I think the average woman can pull it off as well. I love how slick nude, patent leather  shoes look. For some reason, when I see them I always think of that perfect nude lip.  The look is simple yet oh so chic.

Thanks to Aldo, I can try this look out for a reasonable price. At first, I was a bit skeptical about Aldo. I didn’t think their shoes could handle my monster truck feet. But I bought a pair of cute wedges from there for $40 last year and I really loved them. So  I think I might splurge on a pair of these:

 

 

Aldo's Withey Pump

 

Source: Aldo.com

These suckers are a little higher than what I’m used to, but my stylist said the platform makes them feel more like a pump.  If I go to the store and get overwhelmed by the thought of being a glamourpuss, I’ll just try this trend in a sturdy wedge.  Lord knows the last thing I want to do is hobble around a club or lounge with a confused look on my face while carrying a cute pair of shoes. To me, that is the ultimate walk of shame.

 

 

Leave a Reply

